HIS purpose in HIS strength

13 03 2008

// becoming… weaker = getting stronger \\

a good friend sent me this excerpt from the Jesus Calling devotional today, and it was right on time for me.

walk by faith, not by sight.
as you take steps of faith, depending on Me, i will show you how much i can do for you.
if you live your life too safely, you will never know the thrill of seeing Me work through you.
when i gave you my Spirit, i empowered you to live beyond your natural ability and strength.
that’s why it is so wrong to measure your energy level against the challenges ahead of you.
the issue is not your strength but Mine, which is limitless.
by walking close to Me, you can accomplish My purposes in My strength.

reading that really encouraged me, but also convicted me at the same time. how often do i find myself in situations where i have exhausted myself, expending all my mental and physical energy, only to finally ask for God’s guidance or wisdom? how often is the counsel of God my plan b? or c or d?

also, i am learning more and more how challenges teach us who we really are and show us what we have in us… the good and the not so good. there is nothing that is produced by your expereinces that wasn’t already in you. i was talking to someone about this tonight, saying how that the challenges and obstacles we face don’t put anything new in us… but rather they bring to the surface what was already there. hopefully what is brought to the surface is a good and Godly character trait. but sometimes it is not.

my strength has a limit. His does not.
my wisdom has a limit. His does not.

so why do i have to hit a wall while spinning the wheels of my own devices before i pull on the limitless and abounding strength of God? i’ve heard this saying before, something to the effect of “where i end, He begins,” or “his strength picks up where mine left off”. the church i grew up in sang this song “when you’ve tried everything, and everything has failed, try Jesus…” but why do we have to get to the end of our own rope before we grab on to His? why can’t we rest in the confidence of the absolute sovereignty of God from the beginning?

Father, please forgive me for foolishly allowing myself to believe that i was actually supposed to carry out Your infintie call with my finite abilities and resources. thank you for being faithful to remind me that while You did call me to accomplish Your purpose, You never asked me to do it in my own strength.

my grace is enough; it’s all you need.
my strength comes into its own in your weakness.
once i heard that, i was glad to let it happen. i quit focusing on the handicap and began appreciating the gift. it was a case of Christ’s strength moving in on my weakness. now I take limitations in stride, and with good cheer, these limitations that cut me down to size—abuse, accidents, opposition, bad breaks. i just let Christ take over! and so the weaker I get, the stronger I become.
– 2 corinthians 12:9-10 (the message)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

