pray for bob

4 06 2008

i am presently sitting at gate 120 in the international terminal at lax, waiting to board my plane to hong kong, and subsequently jakarta, indonesia.

i want to introduce you to my new friend bob, who i just met here at the airport.

bob is 21 years old, from bowling green, kentucky and is on our flight to hong kong, then connecting to the philippines for a mission trip he is on there with international mission board. bob will be in the philippines with 5 others for 2 months, serving the people there and spreading the gospel. this is bob’s first time out of the country, and he is about to be in a foreign country, minus pretty much every comfort he knows, for two months, to tell people about Jesus.

here is an excerpt from his blog:

My team will be involved in general evangelism with the people of Camotes Island including children and adults. On some days will be having backyard bible studies, playing with the kids, having bible studies with the adults, hopefully playing some Philippino basketball, maybe even planting some rice with the farmers of the region. I will just say that I can’t wait. I know that God is going to take care of me just as He has taken care of me so far. I can’t wait to see what God has in store for my life this summer.

I just want to make sure that this summer is all about Him, and not about me. This summer will help me focus on Him and loving the people of the Philippines. I won’t have television, sports scores, internet, electricity, running water, warm showers, refrigerated food, juice, disc golf, or any of the things that I enjoy in my life. But I will have no distractions. I will also have kids to love on, adults to share the word of God with, teenagers to play sports with, farmers to help on the farm, and new friends and God to lean on
i feel very blessed to have met bob tonight. as you are reading this, say a prayer for him and his team as they prepare to embark on this trip. i encourage you to pray for protection, provision and favor for him and his entire team. thank you.
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

